Rave Reviews For Composer Gabby

Thursday 7th July 2016

On Friday 1 July, a piece of music, written by U6 student Gabrielle Woodward, premiered at a special 100th year anniversary concert commemorating The Battle of Jutland and The Battle of the Somme in London.

Gabby, who attended the concert with her family, shares with us some fantastic reviews following the concert including reviews from Mr Mike Batt, the composer of “The Wombles” and the Conductor/Director of Dockland Sinfonia, Spencer Down.

“Mike Batt tweeted me (Gabby) about the event and I have been told that it moved so many audience members that the orchestra is perhaps looking to perform the piece again and also is interested in premiering any other orchestral piece I write in the future.”

“On behalf of the whole orchestra, I wanted to say how much we all enjoyed performing your wonderful piece. Many of the players and audience commented that the piece really touched them. We had a lot of people moved to tears by the music. Many said how utterly amazed they were that you could compose such a beautiful piece at such a young age. Thank you!” From the Conductor/Director of Dockland Sinfonia, Spencer Down.

13590480_1706223482964193_722585275339130145_n

 

U6 Leaver Gabby, who was awarded the Founders Cup for exceptional work in Music at the school’s annual Speech Day and Prize Giving the following day, summed up the evening in her own words:

“Such a memorable evening last night, hearing my new work ‘Jutland, Lest We Forget’ performed by the Dockland Sinfonia Orchestra and introduced by Lord Admiral Lord West. I am completely overwhelmed by the audiences’ feedback, with some of my family and friends in tears. One of my favourite comments on my piece was from a small girl who told me she thought my piece was effective in creating the battle scene because “it was as if the boat was at the back of the concert hall”. I am feeling incredibly honoured to have been involved in such a moving event.”

Gabby-230x280

Gabby’s work at the concert also features in an article written by the BBC Music Magazine – click here to read the article

 

 

 

Recent News

Equestrian Success

21 February 2018

Congratulations to Ellie T (U5) who, over the weekend, qualified for her third British Eventing national championship final.
 

Recent News

GCSE SPANISH TRIP TO MADRID

20 February 2018

GCSE students were lucky enough to spend their half-term in Madrid on a Modern Foreign Languages trip, it was a fantastic cultural and educational experience for the girls.
 

Recent News

Queen Anne's Sports News

19 February 2018

A round up of all the latest sports news in the week commencing Monday 19 February 2018.
 

Recent News

Queen Anne's celebrates 100 Years of Women's Right to Vote

13 February 2018

The history department has been looking at the way in which things for women changed due to the impact of the First World War including the government granting some women the right to vote. Some of the girls made Votes for Women sashes, rosettes, posters and flags as part of our lessons.
 

Recent News

U6 see success with drama production of “Noises Off”

12 February 2018

A very big congratulations to all U6 girls that were involved in the creation of drama production 'Noises Off', it was a roaring success with attendance from friends, family and teachers. The girls organised this production entirely themselves with no staff assistance which is a fantastic achievement.
 

Recent News

WISH UPON A JAR ANNOUNCED AS TYCOON IN SCHOOLS FINALISTS

09 February 2018

On Wednesday 7 February, Peter Jones CBE announced Wish Upon A Jar, a team of budding entrepreneurs from Queen Anne’s, as one of eight teams from the Tycoons in Schools competition, who will attend Buckingham Palace for the awards ceremony on Thursday 1 March. 
 

Recent News

Queen Anne's Hosts Careers, Universities and Gap Fair

07 February 2018

On Thursday 1 February 2018, Queen Anne's School was delighted to host the annual Careers, Universities and Gap Fair an over 40 representatives from the world of work, universities and gap year providers joined us.
 

Recent News

Queen Anne's Sports News

06 February 2018

A round up of all the latest sports news in the week commencing Monday 29 January 2018.
 

Recent News

Cyber Security Challenge

05 February 2018

On Wednesday 31 January we saw girls from L4, 4 and U4 get involved in a Cyber Security Challenge where they learned a range of coding skills with Isobel S from the U5. 
 

Recent News

A Level Art Students Visit St Ives

02 February 2018

On a cold and wintery January morning, 11 of the Queen Anne's School A Level Art students left school to make their way to St Ives for a weekend of creativity and all things art, the 5 hour-train journey and weather didn't dampen their spirits on this trip however.
 

Next Event

Open Morning Friday 9 March, 2018

09 March 2018

Tours begin at 9.30am and will take just over an hour.  You can ask your tour guide, one of our girls, anything – they don’t have a script and will give you their honest feedback on what life as a Queen Anne’s girl is really like.  At 11.00am, we invite you to join us for some refreshments and to hear a brief talk from Julia Harrington, Headmistress.
 

Next Event

Pathways from Neuroscience to the Classroom

15 March 2018

Education meets neuroscience in this fascinating one-day CPD-accredited conference 'Pathways from Neuroscience to the Classroom'. As BrainCanDo bridge the gap between neuroscience research and effective learning practices to improve cognitive performance and attainment, foster a love of learning and enable a healthy, productive approach to personal development
 

Next Event

Open Morning Saturday 12 May, 2018

12 May 2018

Tours begin at 9.30am and will take just over an hour. You can ask your tour guide, one of our girls, anything – they don’t have a script and will give you their honest feedback on what life as a Queen Anne’s girl is really like. At 11.00am, we invite you to join us for some refreshments and to hear a brief talk from Julia Harrington, Headmistress.
 

Next Event

Open Morning Friday 8 June, 2018

08 June 2018

Tours begin at 9.30am and will take just over an hour.  You can ask your tour guide, one of our girls, anything – they don’t have a script and will give you their honest feedback on what life as a Queen Anne’s girl is really like.  At 11.00am, we invite you to join us for some refreshments and to hear a brief talk from Julia Harrington, Headmistress.