Rave Reviews For Composer Gabby

Thursday 7th July 2016

On Friday 1 July, a piece of music, written by U6 student Gabrielle Woodward, premiered at a special 100th year anniversary concert commemorating The Battle of Jutland and The Battle of the Somme in London.

Gabby, who attended the concert with her family, shares with us some fantastic reviews following the concert including reviews from Mr Mike Batt, the composer of “The Wombles” and the Conductor/Director of Dockland Sinfonia, Spencer Down.

“Mike Batt tweeted me (Gabby) about the event and I have been told that it moved so many audience members that the orchestra is perhaps looking to perform the piece again and also is interested in premiering any other orchestral piece I write in the future.”

“On behalf of the whole orchestra, I wanted to say how much we all enjoyed performing your wonderful piece. Many of the players and audience commented that the piece really touched them. We had a lot of people moved to tears by the music. Many said how utterly amazed they were that you could compose such a beautiful piece at such a young age. Thank you!” From the Conductor/Director of Dockland Sinfonia, Spencer Down.

13590480_1706223482964193_722585275339130145_n

 

U6 Leaver Gabby, who was awarded the Founders Cup for exceptional work in Music at the school’s annual Speech Day and Prize Giving the following day, summed up the evening in her own words:

“Such a memorable evening last night, hearing my new work ‘Jutland, Lest We Forget’ performed by the Dockland Sinfonia Orchestra and introduced by Lord Admiral Lord West. I am completely overwhelmed by the audiences’ feedback, with some of my family and friends in tears. One of my favourite comments on my piece was from a small girl who told me she thought my piece was effective in creating the battle scene because “it was as if the boat was at the back of the concert hall”. I am feeling incredibly honoured to have been involved in such a moving event.”

Gabby-230x280

Gabby’s work at the concert also features in an article written by the BBC Music Magazine – click here to read the article

 

 

 

Recent News

Queen Anne's Sports News

20 September 2017

A round up of the latest sports news from Queen Anne's in the week commencing Monday 11 September.
 

Recent News

Queen Anne's Make It to Botswana!

18 September 2017

In the wind and rain on Friday 15 September, the pupils and staff (and dogs!) of Queen Anne's School completed their epic walk to Botswana!
 

Recent News

The L6 Get Stuck In with the Army Outreach Team

14 September 2017

On Friday 8 September, the L6 braved the damp conditions at Longmoor Camp in Hampshire where Queen Anne's were the first to experience a bespoke day organised by the Army Outreach Team.
 

Recent News

Queen Anne’s Head Girls attend Tatler School Awards

13 September 2017

Monday 11 September saw Queen Anne's two Head Girls attend their first outing of the year representing Queen Anne’s School at Tatler’s 14th annual Schools Awards 2017.
 

Recent News

Bella Competes for England at the Lacrosse Festival

07 September 2017

Over the summer holidays, Sixth Form student and Sports Captain Bella competed for the England U19 A Lacrosse team in the Lacrosse festival held in conjunction with the Lacrosse World Cup at Surrey Sports Park.
 

Recent News

The Queen Anne's Summer Sport Round Up

07 September 2017

A round up of all the summer sports news from Queen Anne's including an Alumnae achievement and our sports awards guest.
 

Recent News

GCSE Success for Queen Anne's Girls

24 August 2017

Queen Anne’s School is delighted to announce another year of outstanding GCSE results with 55% of pupils achieving A*/A grades.
 

Recent News

Outstanding A Level Success for Queen Anne’s Girls

17 August 2017

Queen Anne’s School, Caversham, is delighted to report another set of excellent A Level results for 2017 that the girls can be very proud of with 66% of all grades at A*, A or B.
 

Recent News

Queen Anne's girls going for Gold!

03 August 2017

31 intrepid Sixth Formers boarded a coach at 6am on the first day of their holidays and headed north to the beautiful mountains and tarns of the Lake District in Cumbria to take part in their DofE Qualifying and Practice Expeditions
 

Recent News

Silver Qualifying Group Reduces Duke of Edinburgh's Assessor to Tears

26 July 2017

One of our DofE Silver groups actually reduced a Sam Sykes Ltd professional outdoor instructor to tears on their qualifying expedition in the Yorkshire Dales with their courage and determination.
 

Next Event

Joep Franssens UK Premiere at Queen Anne's

03 October 2017

On Tuesday 3 October at 7.30pm, Queen Anne's School will be hosting the UK premiere of Joep Franssens 'Gift of Song' - a work for two pianos: one pre-recorded and one live.